Florida Child Support Calculator | Guidelines – 2022

Are you getting divorced and looking for accurate information on Florida child support calculator, guidelines, and formula to know how much is to be paid after a divorce in Florida?. In this article, we are going to cover all your important considerations on

  • What are the child custody support laws in Florida?
  • How much kid support amount do you owe?
  • Important factors on how to calculate child support in Florida
  • How long does kid support need to be paid?
  • What is the minimum child support in Florida?

Let’s delve deeper into the above questions.

What is child support?

Florida has different child support guidelines and these guidelines tend to vary as per boundaries and each state. If we talk about Florida laws on the term, the terms are quite simple and fair. For all those people who are new to this term “child support”, here we are going to elaborate about it in brief details. So stay connected with us till the end.

As the name suggests, kid support is a type of payment to be made from agreed higher income parent to the lower income parent. The amount is subjected to be utilised to carry on basic living necessities of the child whose parents filed a case of divorce in the Florida court. Primarily, these basic necessities include (but not limited to) spending money for living quarters, electricity, education, water, and food.

It is important to understand that the general purpose amount paid for standard child support Florida will not be deductible on taxes.

Parents Name
Wages & Income
Non-Custodial Parent
Custodial Parent

Florida child support chart and table

In Florida, the cost of kid support normally is calculated according to a chart given below

The amount calculations for child custody support to be paid by parents determined by

  • the income levels of both parents
  • the child’s health care and child care costs
  • the child’s standard requirements

It is important to understand that Florida Child court tends to terminate the child custody support amount on a child’s 18th birthday unless the extension is quite pre-requisite because of the child’s mental or physical incapacity diagnosed before the child;s 18th birthday. Also, there is a possibility of extension if the respective child turns 18 before graduating High School.

What are the Florida child support guidelines?

For every couple who is planning to get divorce, it is very necessary to get a clear understanding on child joint custody guidelines and to make sure the child continues to be provided with an acceptable standard of living. Primarily, the children support laws in Florida for maximum divorce cases are covered under the section of the Florida Statutes –

State of Florida Child Support Calculator

Well, the state of Florida follows a simple income levels to determine the accurate amount of kid support that parents would spend. Let’s understand the Florida child support formula by taking an example: 

Partner A (husband) and Partner B (wife) mutually decide to get separate and file for a divorce; they have one kid from the marriage. According to the respective standard child custody support florida guidelines, Partner A has to pay a presumptive child custody amount of $200.00. The court may, in its discretion, order Partner A to spend somewhere between $190.00 and $210.00 according to the court of Florida.

There is a possibility that the amount decided by the court may vary from the guidelines for average children support in Florida by more than five percent, however it will be explained in a written finding talking why the amount in  guidelines is inappropriate. 

Now, are you curious about how much child support do I owe? Well, here are a few simple steps that you need to follow to calculate the approximate amount based on the most current guidelines outlined in Florida State Statute 61.30. Steps to be followed are:

Steps to be followed are:

  • Calculate the Net Monthly Income of Non-Custodial Parent and Custodial Parent
  • Number of children who are the subject of the pending action
  • Calculate Monthly Cost of daycare paid by Non-Custodial Parent and Custodial Parent
  • Monthly cost of Medical, Dental, Vision Insurance paid by Non-Custodial Parent and Custodial Parent
  • Other support obligations, if any, of each parent.
  • Spousal support that is paid because of a previous marriage or that has been ordered as part of the present divorce proceeding.
  • Mandatory union dues and retirement payments.

Factors determine kid support percentage in Florida

The amount of income that comes after the deductions of all above mentioned expenses from gross income is the net income of each party. The final step of the payment worksheet includes assigning an obligation children support percentage in Florida to each spouse. There is a high possibility that the Florida child courts may adjust your total calculated minimum child custody support on the basis on below factors:

  • Extraordinary medical, psychological, educational or dental expenses
  • Seasonal variations in income or expenses
  • Age of child, considering the greater needs of the older child
  • Special needs, such as costs associated with the disability of a child
  • A parent gives another person more than 55% of gross income as a child custody support obligation
  • If the child used to spend significant quality time, but less than 20% overnights, with one parent, This may result in reduction of other parent’s finances
  • The refusal from a parent to become involved in the activities with a child
  • A reasonable and necessary expense or debt that both parents incurred during their marriage

What is the minimum child support in Florida?

Generally, the court decides the basic child custody payment amount which would $74 for a single child in Florida if the supporting parent earns a minimum wage/salary of $650. Florida abides according to “Income Shares Model” of parents where both non-custodian and custodian as per their incomes.

Let’s understand this with an example:

For a net total income of approximately $10,000, the child custody guidelines will calculate the lowest amount which would be  percentage wise like this:

  • One child – 5%
  • Two children – 7.5%
  • Three children -9.5%
  • Four children – 11%
  • Five children -12%
  • Six children up to 12.5%

There are a few other factors in the gross monthly income of both parents which are quite responsible for calculating the estimated child custody support. Below are the inclusions of gross monthly income to be considered :

  • Salary or wages, bonuses, commissions, allowances, overtime, tips and other small payments
  • Interest and dividends earned
  • Business income from self-employment, partnership, close corporations and independent contracts
  • Disability benefits, all workers’ compensation benefits and unemployment compensation
  • Pension or retirement and social security benefits
  • Spousal support received from a previous marriage
  • Income earned from royalties, trusts and estates
  • Health insurance costs and any out-of-pocket medical, dental and prescription medication expenses

To know the exact amount, try using child custody support calculator Florida steps we discussed above. Child support in Florida is no cake walk. As per legal laws, both the parents have to agree to financial implications and support their child expenses within their financial capability. Sometimes, these financial implications tend to leave the deep dents in both parents’ lifestyles.

Leave a Comment